«A political Nobel Prize»: Tsikhanouskaya, Kalesnikava and Tsepkalo were awarded the Charlemagne Prize

5 mins

На русском языке: «Нобель в политике»: Тихановская, Колесникова и Цепкало награждены премией им. Карла Великого
На беларускай мове: «Нобель у палітыцы»: Ціханоўская, Калеснікава і Цапкала ўзнагароджаныя прэміяй ім. Карла Вялікага

Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya, Maryia Kalesnikava and Veranika Tsepkalo won the International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen in 2022 in Germany. This is the first time in history that Belarusians won it.

«In recognition of their courageous and encouraging efforts to fight against brutal state despotism, torture, oppression and the violation of basic human rights by an authoritarian regime – and to campaign for democracy, freedom and the rule of law, the Board of Directors of the Society for the Conferring of the International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen in 2022 have elected to honour the Belarusian political activists Maria Kalesnikava, Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya and Veronica Tsepkalo. 

These three leading figures of the Belarusian democratic movement are energetic, living symbols of the spirit of freedom. The sacrifices they have made are unprecedented. Their messages are virulent and rousing. They are a steadfast signal to their own Belarusian society to take its destiny into its own hands. And they are a signal to a weary European society to once again take a stand – with conviction and militancy – for the European values that have been fought for over centuries, values that are increasingly endangered today due to the global struggle for profit and domination, but also to the indifference of many European citizens themselves.

We cannot allow the spirit of the Belarusian democratic movement to fail in Europe»,– the website of the Prize says.

The International Charlemagne Prize is a prestigious European prize that has been awarded annually since 1950 for contributions to the unification of Europe. At various times, Winston Churchill, Vaclav Havel, Bill Clinton, Pope John Paul II, George Marshall and Donald Tusk won the prize.

Previous post
"System for circumventing sanctions": Banks of Belarus started to join the SPFS last year
Next post
Google has blocked YouTube channels of the Presidential Sports Club and Agat - Electromechanical Plant

Related Posts