won the Free Media Awards «for reporting on Belarus»
4 mins

На русском языке: получил награду Free Media Awards «за освещение ситуации в Беларуси»
На беларускай мове: атрымаў узнагароду Free Media Awards «за асвятленне сітуацыі ў Беларусі» media became one of the winners of the 2023 Free Media Awards. The editorial staff received the award for «reporting on Belarus under particularly difficult conditions.»

«The online media project has been chosen to receive a Free Media Award for its reporting on Belarus under particularly difficult conditions. The platform was first established in 2016 by editor-in-chief Fyodar Pauluchenka. In 2021, was blocked by the Ministry of Information, a fate suffered by all independent Belarusian media providers, and the permanent editorial staff was driven out of the country. However, has managed to stay in touch with its sources in Belarus, and has continued to work under extremely risky conditions. In addition to providing in-depth interviews, insightful commentaries and a diversity of voices, the platform stands out not least for its investigative journalism.

During the 2021 situation along the Lithuanian and Polish borders prompted by Belarusian ruler Alexander Lukashenko, was able to establish exactly where the refugees came from and how Belarusian institutions were involved. One important contribution by is that it provides not only news coverage and investigative journalism, but also a platform for reflection on the development of Belarusian society in the wake of the 2020 protests. The project Pyataya Respublica, curated by Olha Shparaha, is an excellent example,» the press release says.

The Free Media Awards was established by the Norwegian Fritt Ord Foundation and German ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius. It’s awarded annually to Ukrainian, Russian and Belarusian journalists and media outlets as a sign of appreciation for their outstanding journalistic work and is intended to enhance independent coverage of events in Eastern Europe.

Together with, this year the award went to Ukrainian journalists  Sevgil Musaieva and Yuriy Nikolov, editorial staffs of OC Media (Georgia) and Vazhnye Istorii (Russia). The award ceremony will take place in Hamburg on September 14.

At different times, the newspaper Brestskiy Kuryer, BDG, Narodnaya Volia, Belarusy i Rynok, Intex-press, Sviatlana Kalinkina, BelaPAN, Vitebskiy Kuryer, Solidarnost, Nasha Niva, CDMag, Gazeta Slonimskaya, Yezhednevnik, Novy Chas, Borisovskiye Novosti, Maryna Koktysh, Valer Karbalevich, Aliaksandr Klaskouski, Belaruski Partisan, Katsiaryna Barysevich, Katsiaryna Andreyeva, Daria Chultsova, Natallia Lubneuskaya,, BAJ.

Congratulations to on this achievement!

Previous post
Belarusian Hajun: Military activity on the territory of Belarus on June 21
Next post
Mi-24 helicopter of the Russian Aerospace Forces crashed near Ivatsevichy

Related Posts